Author Topic: Wind factor  (Read 1332 times)

Offline MT_mulies

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • "Aim high, Miss High"
Wind factor
« on: Feb 18, 2018, 08:34 AM »
So I know on a warm day with wind it can melt alot of ice. Is the opposite true? If it's cold with wind can in make alot of ice?

Offline Super-ice-bird

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • That's a fifth next to that brown!
Re: Wind factor
« Reply #1 on: Feb 18, 2018, 09:47 AM »
I wouldn’t think so, because wind causes waves on open water that would just break up all the ice it was making and push it to shore. Although on already existing ice wind chill might help to strengthen it. But I’m no expert.
Come on fish!

Offline slipperybob

• Team IceShantyholic
  • LX5 or die...maybe extra battery.
« Reply #2 on: Feb 18, 2018, 11:07 AM »
I wouldn't really say, that air movement melts ice, but it will evaporate the ice.  No idea how it will affect the making ice part.
For more information read my MN nice journal

Offline mboss13

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Feb 18, 2018, 11:30 AM »
30+ gusts and 42 today. I just don't go the.

Offline buuddy

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Feb 18, 2018, 11:55 AM »
So I know on a warm day with wind it can melt alot of ice. Is the opposite true? If it's cold with wind can in make alot of ice?

It's all about heat transfer. Heat can only move from hot to cold, so if the wind is warm it will transfer heat to the ice, and because the wind is continuous, over the course of a day a warm wind can melt a lot of ice.
On the other hand, if the wind is cold it will absorb heat from the ice but the transfer rate will not be the same as for that from a warm wind because the ice acts as an insulator shielding the water from the wind.

Offline ice dawg

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
« Reply #5 on: Feb 18, 2018, 11:56 AM »
Ice melts at the top and forms from the bottom. I think wind has more to do with thawing ice than forming it.