Author Topic: Ice Jig Painting  (Read 6792 times)

Offline kerosenecounty17

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • kc17 - NE WI
Ice Jig Painting
« on: Nov 30, 2004, 07:36 PM »
I need some help from the jig artists on the board.  I was thinking about making my own jigs, but decided to start with bulk unpainted jigs from Cabela's and see how that goes before I invest a bunch of money into molds.  I'm a complete novice regarding painting.  My living room is the most advanced project I've done to date.  I've got a couple hundred rocker style jigs in varying sizes that I plan to be working with right now.  I'm also hoping to be able to mix colors to create some off-the-wall colors that the fish haven't seen yet.  Anyway, here's my questions to start:

1.  What types of paint should I start with?  I know there's epoxies, vinyls, powders, etc., but don't have any clue what the advantages and disadvantages of each are. 

2.  How should I apply the paint?  Dipping, brushing, air-brushing, etc.?  I think air-brushing would probably give the best possible finish and fine detail, but I'm wondering how much trouble they are to clean and maintain, and how much patience and skill they take to operate.  I'm guessing dipping would be the quickest and easiest, but wouldn't expect a very refined result.

3.  Where's a good place to buy paint from (on-line or whatever)?  Also, what's a good quantity of each color to start with?  I imagine if you buy it by the pint rather than those little nail-polish-size bottles it would be cheaper, but wonder if a pint will be way more than I'll ever use.

Any other advise will be greatfully accepted.

TIA

kc17
"An ounce of biology is worth a pound of tackle."

-Gord Pyzer

PerchBusterSD

Re: Ice Jig Painting
« Reply #1 on: Nov 30, 2004, 07:41 PM »
dont waste your time with vinyl, it stinks like hell! go with powder, its the only way to go

Offline FishDeepCreek

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Got 45?
« Reply #2 on: Nov 30, 2004, 09:05 PM »