Author Topic: Can't Locate 1lb. Line For My 'Gills  (Read 5805 times)

Offline frankenberry

• IceShanty Rookie
Can't Locate 1lb. Line For My 'Gills
« on: Jan 11, 2006, 06:55 PM »
First time on the site and 3 hours later, I still can not pull myself away!! Amazing!! My question: I am new to blue gills and rigged my reel with 4lb. test. After reading some other threads, I would like to try 1lb. but can not locate. Any recommendations on a brand and online store?
Thanks!!    ???

Offline Chancer

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Can't Locate 1lb. Line For My 'Gills
« Reply #1 on: Jan 11, 2006, 07:08 PM »
First time on the site and 3 hours later, I still can not pull myself away!! Amazing!! My question: I am new to blue gills and rigged my reel with 4lb. test. After reading some other threads, I would like to try 1lb. but can not locate. Any recommendations on a brand and online store?
Thanks!!    ???
Try " www.htfishing.com", they have it, its called Polar ice line, also they have 3/4 # line, but I dont use it because i cant see it very well.Good Luck

Offline fishingking

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 11, 2006, 07:58 PM »
I think ive seen it in Gander mountain the trilene micro ice brand  I normally use 2 lb whats the advantage with 1 lb?
Loose Lips Sink Ships
50,232 Members and 50,232 Lurkers.
Ego's :nono:

bigdave1018

« Reply #3 on: Jan 11, 2006, 08:19 PM »
if you go any lighter then 4 lb test invest in a quality reel that has a very good drag on it or else youll hear more snap then gills on the ice. a very flexable rod that bends easy to absorb the shock will increase your catches. been there done that. a small knick on 4 lb test line has a little forgiveness but 1# and 2#,get use to retying alot.

Offline kerosenecounty17

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • kc17 - NE WI
« Reply #4 on: Jan 12, 2006, 06:35 PM »
Frank,