Author Topic: Crappies  (Read 4386 times)

Offline BowHunter1527

• Team IceShanty Regular
Crappies
« on: Jan 01, 2019, 09:53 AM »
Alright guys im curious, most of the lake around me will have fantastic crappie fishing close to last ice when they're coming in for the spawn. What I would like to know though is why cant we seem to get any until this happens. IMO there has to be some of them that stick around these lakes year round or am I way off on this? I do fish the weed lines and look for them suspended in the deeper areas but most of these lakes are just kind large flats in the deeper areas. People say you wont catch them until the late ice so im just curious on everyones thoughts on this.
"Did you  clip your barbs,  you remember to clip your barbs."

Offline Skywagon

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Crappies
« Reply #1 on: Jan 01, 2019, 03:51 PM »
I am no expert,the following is from what I have read, then observed in our lake system in N/W Ontario, someone else's take may be different.

This time of year the only place I have found crappie in our lake system (50,000 acres of water) is in the deeper areas, which in our case is 20'-30' of water (have never seen them in shallow water like in some of the videos from the States).  From first safe ice on the crappie in our lake are normally at or near the bottom and not in big groups.  They are not very aggresive early on like this, you have to have a fish finder, see the fish and make them bite, even then, many still swim on by.  This seems to change as the months go on, I start seeing larger groups, they are more aggresive and seem to be in more varying depths starting in February on to ice out (for us, late April-May).  I have been experimenting with different lures this winter, trying to trigger the bite, but as of this time, 1/8 oz or smaller jighead and small minnow seem to be working about as good as anything for me.