Author Topic: fish finder/ flasher  (Read 1312 times)

Offline reinventingyourexit

• IceShanty Rookie
fish finder/ flasher
« on: Jan 14, 2014, 09:15 AM »
I'm looking to buy a fish finder or flasher. I'm new to the electronics of ice fishing. i have never used them. and i want to get something to help me out. whats the difference between fishfinders for boats and for ice? other than price. will one for a boat work? and how do the flashers work? any help will be greatly appreciated. thanks.

Offline stripernut

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Tight Lines!
Re: fish finder/ flasher
« Reply #1 on: Jan 14, 2014, 11:17 AM »
I have posted before;

I don’t spend much money on ice fishing, 1, I am fugal (wife says cheap) and 2, I like to tuna fish and that take most of the little money that I spend on fishing. When I was looking for a portable sounder that I was going to use primarily for open water, I know that I would most likely set it up for ice fishing. So that eliminated most of the “Ice Machines” out there, there is nothing “wrong” with any of them, but for the money they ask for, their use is too limited (for me).  I wanted color if I could find it for the right price. When a good color unit is tweaked out right it can often tell you what species of fish is down there. If you don’t believe me just ask a Captain of a good charter boat for cod or haddock, most of the time cod show up as red and haddock as blue… Spending most of my time on the Ocean (Guiding), instructing boat owner how to use their electronics, I have had the pleasure and frustration of using (then teaching the boat owner, how to use) almost every brand out there. I do have a favorite brand; Raymarine, its abilities blows the socks off of most everything out there, but they no longer make any smaller units. They did for a short time, but they found it was cutting into there sales of their more expensive units so they stopped making them…