Author Topic: octupus hooks for pike  (Read 2776 times)

Offline fishin buddy

• Team IceShanty Regular
octupus hooks for pike
« on: Mar 05, 2009, 05:49 PM »
Anyone eevr used octups hooks for big pike? I was thinking of taking and some how hooking a couple into big bait under a tip up for pike. Probably a number 2? size. Any ideas suggestions;good,bad ,other. I was hoping maybe it will up my hook set rate. :tipup:

Offline dabluz

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: octupus hooks for pike
« Reply #1 on: Mar 06, 2009, 11:16 AM »
I haven't had the chance to use circle hooks (if that's what you mean by octopus hooks) but if I ever do use circle hooks, they would be quite large and I would let the pike move away and hook himself as he is moving away.

Octopus hooks.....I use them all the time for any fish species.  My favourite octopus hooks are Gamakatsu.  I have been using them for many years now.

Offline deadbait dave

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • ><(((((((((((((((((((((o>
« Reply #2 on: Mar 08, 2009, 03:27 PM »
that's all i use is gama's octopus 2/0 and 3/0 hooks! they don't come un-glued!
trout make big pike fat and happy!

Offline hardwater603

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Mar 14, 2009, 07:05 PM »
I agree with Deadbait thats all that I ever use is  gamakatsu octapus hooks, I haven't hit any big Pike yet but the ones I have they stick nicely
FISH ON!!!

Offline PIKE FISHERMAN

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Precision Angling on YouTube. Maine based fishing!
« Reply #4 on: Mar 21, 2009, 06:22 PM »
Octupus hooks, octupus hooks, octupus hooks. Best pike hooks i've ever used. I use 3/0 with all size bait. They hook and don't come out.
Precision Angling on YouTube. Maine based Bass, Pike, Fly fishing, Ice fishing, Brook fishing and Trolling. Feel free to follow along as I move through the Maine fishing seasons!!
My Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoA9o9knJAVeEkur3dDAMnA?view_as=subscriber

Offline yog

• Team IceShanty Regular