Author Topic: Filleting Perch  (Read 35700 times)

Offline Big E

• Team IceShanty Regular
Filleting Perch
« on: Jan 28, 2007, 09:58 PM »
There's been a few posts on how to fillet a perch.  I thought I'd do up this pictorial on how I do it.  I'm by no means an expert but I thought it might help those who have been asking.

Start with your perch (substitute your fish here).  I being right handed like to start with it in this position.

Start with a cut diagonally ending at the pelvic fins and as close to the gill plate as you can.

Cut down to the backbone and flick your wrist and run the blade along it.

Go all the way until the blade is about to cut thru the skin at the tail.

Flip the fillet so its skin side down.

Skin the fillet.  Don’t be afraid to put some pressure here so that the blade cuts as close to the skin as possible (my blade will be bending at this point).

One side done.

Flip the fish over and do the same…make your initial cut…

Run to the tail…

Flip and Skin…

After you are done with all your fillets, I then start taking out the ribcages, using a fork to hold the fillet.

Completed fillet…

Hardly any waste…

Bag and Tag (I use a vacuum sealer)…

Hope you found this helpful.

Offline empty hook

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Filleting Perch
« Reply #1 on: Jan 28, 2007, 10:06 PM »
There's been a few posts on how to fillet a perch.  I thought I'd do up this pictorial on how I do it.  I'm by no means an expert but I thought it might help those who have been asking.

Start with your perch (substitute your fish here).  I being right handed like to start with it in this position.
(Image removed from quote.)

Start with a cut diagonally ending at the pelvic fins and as close to the gill plate as you can.

Cut down to the backbone and flick your wrist and run the blade along it.

Go all the way until the blade is about to cut thru the skin at the tail.

Flip the fillet so its skin side down.