The ice fishing WY board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: Flasher vs Camera  (Read 1843 times)

Offline A.Rizzi

• IceShanty Rookie
Flasher vs Camera
« on: Jan 10, 2023, 09:14 AM »
I am relatively new to ice fishing and have never used a flasher or underwater camera. I am considering purchasing one or the other.  I would like some input on which one people think is the better option and why. I would also appreciate any recommendations on brands that don't cost a fortune.  Thanks for the help.

Offline appleye

• Iceshanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Flasher vs Camera
« Reply #1 on: Jan 10, 2023, 09:33 AM »
A camera is very slow and hard to deploy. Awesome for looking at structure and what kind of fish are in the area. Most only have so long of cord (50') or less. A flasher will show fish, once you learn how to use it (YouTube!) structure, depth. Most will go to 300'. You will never go wrong with a flash/ graph first.

A ton of information on the page too: https://www.iceshanty.com/ice_fishing/index.php?board=74.0
In the memory of "Team Lighting" Fish ON!
No one ever says,"Man that fish tastes small.
Thank you Lord for thinkin bout me. I'm alive and doin fine!!!!!!

Offline slamber

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 10, 2023, 10:13 AM »
A camera is very slow and hard to deploy. Awesome for looking at structure and what kind of fish are in the area. Most only have so long of cord (50') or less. A flasher will show fish, once you learn how to use it (YouTube!) structure, depth. Most will go to 300'. You will never go wrong with a flash/ graph first.

A ton of information on the page too: https://www.iceshanty.com/ice_fishing/index.php?board=74.0