The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Looking for some snowmobile advise, 1991 indy 400  (Read 1206 times)

Offline thedirtydirtyfisherman

• Team IceShanty Addict
Looking for some snowmobile advise, 1991 indy 400
« on: Dec 17, 2018, 10:32 AM »
Hey guys,

having some fits with a snowmobile i purchased.  Its a 1991 indy 400.  So the issue im having is that it wont pick up fuel from the carb bowl.  If i pour gas down the cylinders it will fire and run but then dies out.  I have cleaned the carbs twice and all the passages are open.  I have taken off the lines connected to the carbs, and when i pull the engine over, gas does pulse out.  I replaced the spark plugs as well.  Im kind of stuck on what the issue is.  I am new to snowmobiles so kind of learning as i go.  The last thing i can thing of is the the choke lever is broken so ive been unable to choke the engine, so im gonna replace that, choke it and try and start it.

Offline eiderz

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Looking for some snowmobile advise, 1991 indy 400
« Reply #1 on: Dec 17, 2018, 11:06 AM »
Double and triple check the carb for blockage. Not sure if by "cleaning"  you meant disassembly or just spraying in cleaner. Some disassembly required.  ;) Then if fixing the choke doesn't work, and you're sure everything in the carb is clean, you might need a new fuel pump. One that's weak may still spit fuel to open air. They can be had for around $35. Best of luck with your new machine.  :tipup:

Offline woodchip

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Dec 17, 2018, 11:42 AM »
Sounds like a loose piece of dirt in carb that loosened up when you cleaned it and it is blocking the out flow

Offline grub662

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Ya got any smelts?
« Reply #3 on: Dec 17, 2018, 03:02 PM »
Turn the fuel on. There is a shut off in the line. make sure it is on.