The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Best tip up  (Read 8217 times)

Offline Jason1817

• Team IceShanty Regular
Best tip up
« on: Jan 19, 2016, 06:29 PM »
I'm looking to buy some new tip ups ( going to order 15) and I'm not sure which to get? I was considering beaver dam tip ups or maybe the Round HT polar thermal....there are so many choices....

What makes 1 tip up better then the next ?
Smoothness ?

I know I'd  like a tip up that doesn't give me allot of trouble  and that is so smooth the fish has no idea there's something on the other end....

I'm just getting into the tip up fishing....I've been jigging fish for awhile....

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Offline rt dak

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Best tip up
« Reply #1 on: Jan 19, 2016, 06:37 PM »
Really depends on how much you want to spend. I have Indian Hills and I love them, but 15 of them is going to run you $500 at the cheapest. Why do you need 15 anyway?

Offline Eddie Spaghetti

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 19, 2016, 06:39 PM »
I like Beaver Dam. They are smooth, and well built. But I have a mixed bag, a beaver dam, frabill hardwood, HT Husky tip-ups, and a bunch of the plastic rail style. I bought some new cross style last year when I found them on sale. You'll drop @ $40 each on a BD.

Offline Tripper

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 19, 2016, 06:46 PM »
I like Jack Traps the best. Why?  Because they are built to last and perform without any modifications right out of the box. They hold plenty of line for deep spots and can be set really sensitive for trout.  :tipup:  They aren't cheap but you can find them one sale at places like KTP.

Indian hill's are a nice trap as well.

Offline Jason1817

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 19, 2016, 06:47 PM »