New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Ice thickness?  (Read 3226 times)

Offline Skunker

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • All I want is fish with Teeth
Ice thickness?
« on: Dec 02, 2007, 05:58 PM »
Hey all,  I'm very new to ice fishing and eager to get out and do some fishing.  I was just curious if some of you could share some info or tips on figuring out how thick the ice is before I venture out on it.  Also and info on safe ice thinkness would be helpful.  Don't wanna make my first year of ice fishing my last!!!  Hopefully this winter I will be able to get out a bunch and share some info on my outing in the canandaigua area.  Thanks a lot. 

Skunker.
100% Catch and release!!!!!!!!

Offline perchking4ever

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Ice thickness?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 02, 2007, 06:03 PM »
usually 2" of black ice is good for one person and 3-4" is alright for you and a buddy to fish together. When I check the ice I always wear my PFD and bring a rope. I go out a a couple of feet from shore and drill a hole and see if the ice thickness is to my liking. I hope this helped. ;D

Offline flagnut

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 02, 2007, 06:04 PM »
i like to go out with at least 8" of ice.black ice is really strong so i like to go out at 4".but that is just me.

Offline Whatpole

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 02, 2007, 06:12 PM »
"Isn't he precious." My daughter looking at a 12" walleye
"The Green Hornet strikes again!"

Offline miranick

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Dec 02, 2007, 06:13 PM »
try the biggg rock test find the biggest rock you can and see if it will hold if that works then try a couple of test holes with the auger. oyu want atleast 4" of clear(black) ice. If the ice is cluody then it is soft and you could fall through6-8". Good idea to go out with friends the first couple times anyway with a rope.

Offline 1TIGGER

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • SAFE ICE TO ALL !
« Reply #5 on: Dec 02, 2007, 06:26 PM »