Author Topic: Favorite recipes??  (Read 3798 times)

Offline slabcommander

• Team IceShanty Regular
Favorite recipes??
« on: Feb 04, 2014, 09:41 PM »
C'mon guys, all this talk of limits and fillin' the freezer has me wondering.....What's your favorite recipes???? Panfish, Lakers, walleye etc. Let's see what your go to is or anything you make unique. I'm a local chef and will start with my contribution-best ever grilled lake trout. People say they aren't good, and I promise you will love this recipe. The key is lots of vinegar and a good 8 hours to marinate. The sugar/vinegar really cuts the grease and adds a nice sweetness. Like an Italian dressing kinda thing but this has more vinegar and you will not taste any strong oily flavors. Nothing fancy, but real good.

Italian BBQ laker-makes 1 large fillet
1/2 cup red wine vinegar
1/4 cup good olive oil
2 t minced garlic about 2 cloves
2T sugar
2T dijon mustard
1t salt
1/2 t pepper
2 sprigs fresh thyme minced
1t dried oregano
combine and place in a large zip lock bag...

you gotta let this marinate for 8 hours in a air tight zip lock bag. Then, remove from marinade and discard excess marinade. Place on a hot grill to prevent sticking and also to get a nice char on the fillet. Grill 5 minutes on each side only flipping once to keep the fish from falling apart. Serve with your favorite tartar sauce or fresh lemon and extra virgin olive oil, you'll love it.

Offline Cusefan78

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Favorite recipes??
« Reply #1 on: Feb 04, 2014, 09:50 PM »
Hate to be the box guy but 1/2 Cajun 1/2 regular shore meal deep fried Pan  fish is my go to
2011 King of the pond champion. Don't hate me cause I'm great!

Offline 315stickbow

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Fishin' fool
« Reply #2 on: Feb 04, 2014, 11:32 PM »