Author Topic: shiner box  (Read 1168 times)

Offline fishingwithkids

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • pop your magic twanger froggy........
shiner box
« on: Feb 23, 2010, 06:36 PM »
hello all. im kinda new at this. i am interested in building a shiner box that i can sink in a brook so i can have fresh bait without waiting for the sports shop to open. anyone have any plan or ideas what might work. thanks for your time.

Offline thefinlessbrown2

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • fulfilling dreams in good company
Re: shiner box
« Reply #1 on: Feb 24, 2010, 04:54 AM »
if you have access to an old washing machine the drum will serve the purpose with minimal modifactions needed ..

Offline deerme

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Feb 24, 2010, 07:51 AM »
the easiest thing to do is go buy a rubbermaid (or other) plastic bin and an aerator (bubble or aquarium type).  fill it w/ water and throw your shiners in there.  keep it in the garage or basement - whatever's closer to 32 degrees.  here's a look at mine.

keep lights off and cover on - the darker the better

very affordable way of keeping shiners for weeks....

Offline shadfish

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 24, 2010, 08:23 AM »
Nice system what happened to the green coffin  ;D

Offline deerme

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Feb 24, 2010, 08:30 AM »
Nice system what happened to the green coffin  ;D

haha!! that worked great when i lived in an apartment and had to keep them outside.  now that i have a basement, this is all i need  ;D ;D

Offline baitemin

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Feb 24, 2010, 10:10 AM »