The Ice Fishing MA is board

Author Topic: Pike Setups  (Read 1369 times)

Offline 25ftup

• IceShanty Rookie
Pike Setups
« on: Dec 24, 2009, 04:53 PM »
How do you guys rig your tilts for pike? Id like to set my extra set for them.

Offline Bozeiceman

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Pike Setups
« Reply #1 on: Dec 24, 2009, 09:58 PM »
First of all let me say I have not fished for pike through the ice...I am a trophy Pickerel hunter...snicker if you will...and not a very good one either...most years I catch a few very large pics...but I am after the state or world record. I will give you my set up...and except constructive criticsm and I am always looking for new ideas..
Caution about the advice you get take everything with a grain of salt. I have been fishing hard for over 40 years...HARD...I am still learning and still make huge mistakes...if it was baseball there would be a flashing light on the green monster that said Bozeiceman 1 angler error after last year....you see what I do is wait until ice...then I change for a barbless hook CPR guy catch photograph and release...I fish almost exclusively with the fly rod...when ice comes I switch to Mr. Trophy Pic Hunter.
Last year I had been reading about how guys catch pics on 4 and 6 pound leaders...just have to play the fish right! Learn to fish they say! I catch them all the time on light line! That's what some will tell you! So in an attempt to generate more hits I set a trap out with 0X florocarbon leader material on a pickerel trap. It was working well and I had caught a bunch of picks no problem. Then a monster, a giant pick, the fish I had been waiting years hits a giant select golden shiner! I saw it twice go under  the hole and I thought...over 27" easy...maybe bigger and heavy...NOT a pike but a monster herring fed pickerel...chewed right through the floro..gone!! Agler error..devestation, disapointment, defeat...all alone dark cold dismal...kicked my ass all the way home...