New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: slender spoon  (Read 7898 times)

Offline Fishhunter22

• Team IceShanty Regular
slender spoon
« on: Jan 15, 2013, 09:16 PM »
im new to slender spoons, what colors ans size should i try for oneida walleyes?

Offline AugustWest

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: slender spoon
« Reply #1 on: Jan 15, 2013, 10:10 PM »
1 of everything they offer ;)
AW

Offline s10xr

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 15, 2013, 10:23 PM »
1 of everything they offer ;)
AW

Agreed.  Someday ill have them all

Offline conesusguy

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 16, 2013, 12:11 AM »
Do you guys that use them find that tipping them with a fathead's head (as opposed to hooking a live fathead through the nose) have a better bite? I'm going to try this when Oneida gets safe ice.
This sport takes a certain amount of character in a man that we all should respect and take pride in.

Offline Gillpill

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • All I need is a big Bull gill and Im set
« Reply #4 on: Jan 16, 2013, 01:07 AM »
gotta get me a few of these as ive heard so many good things about them and everything else i have used from CJ&S has been dynamite.
That's a Bluegill, no that's a Sunfish...I've heard it both ways!!

Offline frostbittin

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #5 on: Jan 16, 2013, 05:11 AM »
I think anything more than a minnow head would mess up the action of the spoon.

Offline s10xr

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #6 on: Jan 16, 2013, 05:31 AM »
Ive used whole/half/ and just the heads.  I always hook them down through the skull.  but usually I just rip off a half of minnow and jig away.  It flutters down fine with no matter what you put on the hook.  I prefer to use buckeyes over fat heads. 

Offline jakep138

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #7 on: Jan 16, 2013, 05:44 AM »
Just picked some up this year gonna give them a shot this weekend

Offline Fishhunter22

• Team IceShanty Regular