Author Topic: Why is tipup line such a high pound test?  (Read 1088 times)

Offline IceRaider

• Team IceShanty Regular
Why is tipup line such a high pound test?
« on: Jan 15, 2013, 02:24 AM »
This is a newbie question. I was thinking of buying my first tipup. I've never used them before. I noticed the lb. test line for them is very high. Why is that?

Offline iceman8132

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Why is tipup line such a high pound test?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 15, 2013, 02:48 AM »
 Depending on how you fish you can't exactly sit there and watch a tip-up like hawk and sometimes you get a little complacent and forget to check for extended periods so a fish could be on there for a half hour or more taking out line and if its a big fish you could potentially loose it all and still not have to worry about it breaking (hopefully). Another reason is thinner line such as a mono would be pretty hard to pack tight and keep from getting tangled etc. Also after you take a tip-up out of the water and move to another spot the line will freeze which is a pain but not too bad since its thicker and you can pull on it and not have to worry about slicing open your hands. Over all it's just easier to use.

Offline Whopper Stopper

• Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Jan 15, 2013, 04:50 AM »
Heavier line is easier on the hands when pulling a heavy fish in. Also the ice can raise havoc on light line as you fight a fish. There are other reasons people prefer heavier line. I will let them chime in.

WS

Offline river_scum

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • hook n cook
« Reply #3 on: Jan 15, 2013, 07:01 AM »
mainly because it needs to be strong.  there is no give in hand lining like there is with a rod. the other reasons given are also all true.
real fishermen don't ask "where you catch those"

OANN the real story

- member here since -2003- IN.

Offline popnfish

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #4 on: Jan 15, 2013, 07:16 AM »