Author Topic: Jigs for perch  (Read 8134 times)

Offline fishin fool

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • give 'em a shake
Jigs for perch
« on: Nov 14, 2003, 09:30 PM »
I am relatively new to ice fishing.  I have only been at it for four seasons.  What are the best jigs for perch?  Are there any colors that are better than others generally?  Thanks ahead of time.
t'pup!

Offline crappie_attitude

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Gotta' have more cowbell
Re:Jigs for perch
« Reply #1 on: Nov 14, 2003, 10:22 PM »
Perch aren't all that picky...I think color has more to do with it than jig design.  I just buy the regular round head jigs from Cabelas in bulk and paint em' myself.  White, glo, fl. yellow and orange seem to always work for me.

Offline Flash_King

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • FLAG UP!
« Reply #2 on: Nov 15, 2003, 03:07 AM »
Small swedish pimple w/small strip of shiner flesh attached or visit your local fly shop and pick up some beadheaded nymphs or small wooly worms.Crappie Attitude is correct that perch are not that finicky - just get in the right location and get your offering in their field of vision.

Good Luck - Good Fishing
GOOD LUCK - GOOD FISHING

Offline walleyeslayer

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • fish obsessed
« Reply #3 on: Nov 17, 2003, 11:30 AM »