Author Topic: Wire shy?  (Read 6158 times)

Offline walkonwater1

• Team IceShanty Regular
Wire shy?
« on: Dec 16, 2007, 06:19 PM »
Has anyone found Eyes to be wire shy?
What type leaders are you using?
I am new to targeting eyes and my tip-ups are rigged with standard braid with 10lbs P-line flouro leader. I will inevitably lose some rigs to pike but I don't want eyes to shy away by using wire.
Kids that hunt, trap and fish don't mug little old ladies.

Big moves to find'em, small moves to catch'em!

Offline beeverfishing

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Wire shy?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 16, 2007, 06:20 PM »
I don't use wire for walleye..  no need

Offline icefishinman88

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 16, 2007, 06:56 PM »
We dont use wire for walleye either.We put 6lb mono on as a leader.

Offline Master Angler

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • 10" Hole = Less tales of the big one that got away
« Reply #3 on: Dec 16, 2007, 09:29 PM »
I don't use wire for walleyes, but have caught some big ones when pike fishing using my black wire quickstrikes, with big bait (8-10").

Offline ChenBassHead

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Team Bandito
« Reply #4 on: Dec 18, 2007, 01:19 PM »
I just use fluorocarbon for eyes....no real need to use wire, unless you're also fishing for pike.

Offline bigfoot697

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Dec 18, 2007, 04:24 PM »
invisa leaders,they real do work on line shy finicky gamefish.

Offline fishingabomb2006

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #6 on: Dec 23, 2007, 12:39 PM »
try using some fireline crystal, 14 or 20lb, its more abrasion resistant than mono and that stuff is pretty much invisable under the ice
Team Goldfish 55 :-D :-D
lifetime jigging goals:
gill-done; perch-done; crappie- done; bass- done; carp-done; catfish-done, splake-done; rainbow-done; brookie- done; pike- done; pickeral-done (29inch6.5lb); white fish-done;  laker-  ;cusk-  ;salmon-  ;walleye-

Offline pickledpike

• IceShanty Rookie