New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: what drill to get  (Read 5983 times)

Offline trapper2000

• Team IceShantyholic
what drill to get
« on: Dec 19, 2022, 04:30 AM »
i have a  great gas auger and  i don't mind  using it .... and  i  don't mind  using the  5 inch hand  auger  but i'm really thinking i want a  electric  drill auger ....any suggestions on  a  drill ....i was right at lowes  but i don't want to buy  the wrong  drill for the  job ....be specifice   because i'm a  old fart  thanks  guys

Offline Iceassin

• Team IceShantyholic
  • The secret to fishing...fish where the fish are.
Re: what drill to get
« Reply #1 on: Dec 19, 2022, 05:08 AM »
Honestly, just about any major brand drill will work. I've seen guys use all makes with no real issues. But, what you need: 100# of torque for every inch of auger you're using...18V minimum...4ah battery minimum.

I have been using the Ryobi P251 for several years now and have had 0 problems. 1)750# of torque turns my 8" auger easily. 2) Comes with the auxillary handle 3) And the batteries are interchangeable with the other Ryobi products I have.

One other FYI. I don't think it matters what drill you choose and use... ya' just can't lay on these things when cutting holes. Ice is similar to concrete imo. Slow as she goes...especially with thicker ice. I do some up and down motion when drilling just to ease the stress on the drill and prolong the life of the battery a bit. No matter how slow I go, it's still faster and easier than doing it by hand.

Hope this helps.
"Si quaeris peninsulam amoenam circumspice."

Offline reeleyz

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Dec 19, 2022, 05:23 AM »
I'm still running the Milwaukee Fuel 18v hammer drill with the original clam plate. I have it on a 7" lazer power auger. I've been running it since 2015 with no issues.

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #3 on: Dec 19, 2022, 06:52 AM »
Dewalt DCD991

Dewalt DCD996