Author Topic: will my ice shack be OK?  (Read 5406 times)

Offline connected

• IceShanty Rookie
will my ice shack be OK?
« on: Nov 29, 2009, 02:02 PM »
This is my first year that I'll be doing some serious ice fishing, I even went so far as to build a shack. My plan is to place it on a lake and leave it there through the season.

I'm really worried about people messing/destroying it when I'm not around. I don't plan on leaving anything in there and I have windows that people can look in and see there's nothing there. This is an 8x8 shack and I don't have a trailer so it would be a real pain loading it up when I leave.

What are your experiences? Are some lakes worst then others where vandalism is concerned?

Thanks guys

Jay

Offline C P

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Hold my beer and watch this
Re: will my ice shack be OK?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 29, 2009, 02:05 PM »
I would just make sure you get a paddleock for the door and I would think thats enough.
I caught a fish once! 

TEAM MITTEN

"EDITED"

Offline keepah seekah

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 29, 2009, 02:09 PM »
after you get yer hardside out on the ice, cut a 4 foot by 4 foot hole in front of the door. cut a piece of white styrofoam to size and stick in the hole, lightly camoflauged with some snow.  ;D
ps. make sure you mark it somehow so you don't forget it's there and take a cold dip!
i am a big supporter of PETA...."People Eating Tasty Animals"

"the green hornet strikes again gustafson!!!!"

Offline connected

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Nov 29, 2009, 02:15 PM »
I would just make sure you get a paddleock for the door and I would think thats enough.
I actually have the door double padlocked

Offline connected

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Nov 29, 2009, 02:17 PM »
after you get yer hardside out on the ice, cut a 4 foot by 4 foot hole in front of the door. cut a piece of white styrofoam to size and stick in the hole, lightly camoflauged with some snow.  ;D