Author Topic: CRAPPIE LOCATION THIS TIME OF YEAR  (Read 2389 times)

Offline new-icer

• IceShanty Rookie
CRAPPIE LOCATION THIS TIME OF YEAR
« on: Mar 22, 2005, 04:01 PM »
WHAT DO THE CRAPPIES DO THIS TIME OF YEAR? DO THEY MOVE SHALLOW OR DEEP? DO THEY SUSPEND IF SO HOW FAR? WHAT BAITS WILL WORK BEST? AS YOU CAN TELL I'M KIND OF NEW TO THE WHOLE ICE FISHING THING AND I NEED SOME MAJOR HELP. THANKS. ANY INFO OR IDEAS WOULD BE APPRECIATED. KEEP IN MIND I HAVE NO ELECTRONICS.

Offline Pasquatch

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: CRAPPIE LOCATION THIS TIME OF YEAR
« Reply #1 on: Mar 22, 2005, 06:32 PM »
They should be going pretty shallow, preferably near some kind of inflowing current. Who knows what depth they're suspending at, if you had electronics, that would help, but since that's a no, start at the bottom and move up. I would jig for them with little tiny jigs tipped with maggots, barely even moving the lure. If you know where structure like weeds or timber is, fish there. I'm no Wally Marshall, but that's the best that I know. I know there's crappie fishermen on here, and I'm not one, just thought I'd tell you what I know.

-Wes

Offline crappieman12887

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Love them crappies!!!!
« Reply #2 on: Mar 22, 2005, 07:23 PM »
WHAT DO THE CRAPPIES DO THIS TIME OF YEAR? DO THEY MOVE SHALLOW OR DEEP? DO THEY SUSPEND IF SO HOW FAR? WHAT BAITS WILL WORK BEST? AS YOU CAN TELL I'M KIND OF NEW TO THE WHOLE ICE FISHING THING AND I NEED SOME MAJOR HELP. THANKS. ANY INFO OR IDEAS WOULD BE APPRECIATED. KEEP IN MIND I HAVE NO ELECTRONICS.