The ice fishing Michigan board sponsored by:

Sponsor this board

Author Topic: Lake Mitchell Help  (Read 1373 times)

Offline Chaddar

• IceShanty Rookie
Lake Mitchell Help
« on: Dec 11, 2007, 03:44 PM »
Looking some help.  I plan on going to Lake Mitchell this Saturday.  Hopefully someone on these boards can give me some insight.  The weather today has ruined the ice around me.  I mainly fish for gills, croppie and perch.  Wouldn't mind throwing out a tip up for pike, but I've never done that before.

Any ideas on ice conditions and where to go would be very appreciated.

Thanks.

Offline BigRocks

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Lake Mitchell Help
« Reply #1 on: Dec 12, 2007, 01:48 PM »
try big cove straight out from camp torenta. dont know how much ice but im sure its fishable.
n/a

Offline Chaddar

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 12, 2007, 04:24 PM »
Thanks for the info.  I will post ice conditions and results when I get back.

Offline panfisher07

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 12, 2007, 07:13 PM »
 was up in cadillac last weekend and saw sleds on the ice. mainly running the shore line. there's a party store called thirstys off m-55,right across the street is a small parking area. Some nice deep pockets with gravel. Ive always had good luck here.

Offline Chaddar

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Dec 14, 2007, 09:05 AM »
Thanks to everyone for their help.  I was also told to go out in Big Cove, over by the Boy Scout's camp ground.

I called up to a local bait shop yesterday and he said the ice has 6 inches and there was some snowmobile and 4 wheeler traffic on it.  He also said he wouldn't be driving his sled on it anytime soon.  People has been fishing for a couple of weeks.

I'll report more when I get back.  Going for panfish and pike.

Chaddar

Offline BigRocks

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Dec 14, 2007, 01:15 PM »
the boy scout camp is camp torenta. its not actualy a boy scout camp so i dont know why they call it that.
n/a

Offline Chaddar