Author Topic: Veteran's Day  (Read 2437 times)

Offline InSearchOfPerch

• Team IceShanty Addict
Veteran's Day
« on: Nov 10, 2007, 11:20 AM »
This Monday is of course Veteran's Day.  As a veteran myself I wanted to take a moment to thank all fellow servicemen and women on the site.  Every year all the bank employees, teachers, postal workers, etc...get the day off on Veternas day.  It is a Federal Holiday.  However, all the veterans who dont work in those areas of the labor field are stuck working.  Doesnt make much sense to me.  I think there should be a federal law that requires all employers who have employees that are veterans,  veterans that show the employer a dd-214 to show they served,  to be required to give them the day off...PAID.  Let everyone else work to cover for them.  Just an idea.  Anyways, I think it would be cool for all veterans on this site to post on this thread and give their branch of service, unit and dates they served...This way the rest of us could get a chance to see just how many of us there are on the site.

US ARMY
29th Inf Regt 1987-1989
82nd Airborne 1990 to 1992

Check out the video link, it says it all perfectly.

http://my.break.com/content/view.aspx?ContentID=106472   

Offline Bean

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Veteran's Day
« Reply #1 on: Nov 10, 2007, 12:53 PM »
I think there should be a federal law that requires all employers who have employees that are veterans,  veterans that show the employer a dd-214 to show they served,  to be required to give them the day off...PAID.  Let everyone else work to cover for them. 

I agree with you. That's always been a peeve of mine.

USAF 1983-89
Ken                                          

Offline rich81

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 10, 2007, 01:04 PM »
USMC 1999-2003  SEMPER FI! 

Happy Birthday Marines  Nov 10, 1775 

Offline jimmygunns

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Add more bacon, son!
« Reply #3 on: Nov 10, 2007, 01:30 PM »