Author Topic: The weight of power aguers? electric?  (Read 1856 times)

Flathead

The weight of power aguers? electric?
« on: Feb 21, 2004, 12:12 AM »
First let me say that I am from IA only late in the season is it safe to drive on the lake so I must pull everything. I have a big sled too Frabill ranger XL. Not fun pullin throw snow. Is the weight justifid on power aguers & how do the electric ones work how many holes can ya punch on a battery? Thanks

Offline Bob_D

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • www.Fishingvermont.net
Re: The weight of power aguers? electric?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 21, 2004, 07:37 AM »
Are your talking about a sled ot a shanty/sled combo? If you add ski's to your sled and raise it up out of the snow a little, it will pull like a dream. Sometimes I pull close to 150# of gear in my sled for 1.3 miles on the lake and I never have a problem. Here is a pic of my modified sled....

For augers.....I have a Nils Master 8". It weighs 23# with a full tank of gas. I can imagine the electric ones will be much lighter when you add a battery. The electircs are more for fish houses, where folks don't want the noise and smell of a power auger.

However this is JMO.

Bob

Flathead

« Reply #2 on: Feb 21, 2004, 08:59 PM »
Yes thats exactly what I have a shanty/sled combo. Thats a slick idea may have to give it a shot.  Thanks

nuke1neil

« Reply #3 on: Feb 21, 2004, 09:02 PM »
Esox,that thing got a hemi in it ? Cool set up.

Offline fozsey

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #4 on: Feb 21, 2004, 09:30 PM »
Bob,

Where's your ice shanty flag??  ;D

You got your Mr. Twister, your Mepps, and your Exide..  ;D

Sorry, just ribbin you a little.  :D

You got a nice setup. I have been following your homade ice shanty since you first posted it. I just happened to do a search on them and yours was one that I found right away. I didn't put 2 and 2 together until today. I'm a little slow sometimes.  ;) Brian