The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Western Mt ice fishing  (Read 2185 times)

Offline Pnwgameslayer

• IceShanty Rookie
Western Mt ice fishing
« on: Jan 19, 2018, 02:23 PM »
Hi all, I'm new to the state from Western Washington and really excited to get out and learn some fishing around here. I live in Florence mt and I was curious if anyone could tell me where there is ice fishing lakes within 100 miles other than Georgetown(thats probably the farthest that way I can travel)
Thanks!

Offline pmmpete

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Western Mt ice fishing
« Reply #1 on: Jan 19, 2018, 02:52 PM »
Check out the lakes in the Seeley Lake area - Salmon, Seeley, Inez, Alva, Rainy, Placid, Harpers, Upsata, and Browns.  There are additional lakes you get to if you have a snowmobile, such as Clearwater Lake.

Because most of Flathead Lake rarely freezes, the ice fishing opportunities are limited there. The primary ice fishing is in East Bay (the southeast corner of the lake) and a couple of small sheltered bays.  The ice on East Bay can get busted up fast by a stiff north wind, so many years there is only a couple of weeks of ice fishing on East Bay. 

There are a number of reservoirs south of Flathead Lake with ice fishing opportunities.

Offline titan666

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 19, 2018, 05:37 PM »
I fish Dog and Ninepipes, you have to have a rez fishing and conservation, but it can be fun fishing. What part of W. WA you from? I lived in the Kent area for a few years.

Offline Pnwgameslayer

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 25, 2018, 04:21 PM »
I'll have to check those out in the next couple weeks!
I'm from small town yelm Wa, it's about 20 min south of Olympia. I worked up in Kent for a year.

Offline missoulafish

• Team IceShantyholic
  • TēM HîPē FÿSh
« Reply #4 on: Jan 25, 2018, 05:44 PM »
The only part I liked about WA was the wet side fishing lol:)

Offline smorfonzo76

• IceShanty Rookie