The ice fishing Michigan board sponsored by:

Sponsor this board

Author Topic: Reeds Lake or near by lakes  (Read 1357 times)

Offline c_strap4

• IceShanty Rookie
Reeds Lake or near by lakes
« on: Dec 28, 2012, 01:30 PM »
I am new to the Grand Rapids area and to IceShanty.com. Looking to see if any of the surrounding lakes have decent ice yet? Thanks!

Offline USMC 1371

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Reeds Lake or near by lakes
« Reply #1 on: Dec 28, 2012, 04:58 PM »
Reeds is one of the last lakes in the area to have safe ice.  Give it 2 weeks or so.

Offline scoutb

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 28, 2012, 09:51 PM »
Welcome to Ice Shanty.  Yeah, Reeds is a ways off yet.  Try some of the smaller lakes in northern Kent County or Montcalm. 
There he stands, draped in more equipment than a telephone lineman, trying to outwit an organism with a brain no bigger than a breadcrumb, and getting licked in the process.  ~Paul O'Neil, 1965

Offline c_strap4

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 29, 2012, 03:14 PM »
Thanks for the replies! Any suggestions for lakes?

Offline FadedBDUs

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Dec 29, 2012, 04:29 PM »
Checked Fennesy and Cranberry today.  Haven't been to Fennesy in quite a while...I see the locals around there succeeded in getting some no parking signage posted.  They want it private so bad and as far as I'm concerned they can have it.  Anyways, appears nobody's been on it yet, and some dark looking areas in the snow too.  Cranberry was the same, and looks like someone either fell in or threw a cinder block through just off the south entrance.  I know this doesn't help with ice thickness at all, but I can tell you even if it was borderline safe there would be crazy people out on those two lakes.  Maybe next weekend.

Offline superslabs

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #5 on: Dec 29, 2012, 06:19 PM »