Author Topic: Tip-up leaders  (Read 2692 times)

Offline Fishinut

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Jig-A-Man Jigs!
Tip-up leaders
« on: Jan 01, 2005, 09:32 PM »
I'm still pretty new at this sport and haven't been as successful as I would like to be. I mainly fish for browns and rainbows ranging from 12-20 inches. On my tip-ups last year I ran a 3ft, 6lb trilene green mono leader with a size 10 treble. I would like to start using flouro but last year I tried 6lb vanish and the knot strength was horrible. Could I just have gotten a bad spool? Is Vanish the way to go? Do you guys use flouro leaders, but in a higher test like 8 or 10? What is your complete leader set-up? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

fishinut
Many are cold, but few are frozen

Offline TroutFishingBear

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • almost 22" cuttbow, took 6 minutes to land
Re: Tip-up leaders
« Reply #1 on: Jan 01, 2005, 09:52 PM »
Although some will disagree, vanish isn't the way to go. The knot strength IMO is horrible. I prefer floroclear. That is mono laced with florocarbon. It handles a lot like mono, has excellent knot strength, and is invisible like florocarbon. hope this helps.
if anybody from michigan will help me out with the lakes and stuff up here I'd really appreciate it since I'm new to the area.

Offline Polar

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Jan 02, 2005, 07:35 AM »
I use a leader of 8lb Stren/clear 6ft long with size 8 treble hook.
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an  well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, A fishing pole in one hand, beer in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming \"WOO HOO, what a ride!

Offline Fishinut

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Jig-A-Man Jigs!
« Reply #3 on: Jan 02, 2005, 09:48 AM »
Troutfishingbear-
I have some flouroclear, never thought of using it for leaders though. What #test do you use? I will definatly tie a few with it. Thanks

Polar-