Author Topic: Question for you Alaskans.  (Read 23036 times)

Offline darkhousefisher

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Me and my fishing buddy
Question for you Alaskans.
« on: Nov 06, 2006, 05:21 PM »
There is a very good possibility that we will be moving to Anchorage this spring.  My wife is an RN and has been talking to some hospitals and nurse agency's there.  I am a welder/blacksmith/mechanic and I hope to gain employment when we get there or before if possible.  Can you offer any general (and fishing ;)) advice and tips before we head there.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance.
Darkhouse

Offline icy mike

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Nope!
Re: Question for you Alaskans.
« Reply #1 on: Nov 07, 2006, 04:41 PM »
Go to the State of Alaska web site for job links.  There are two hospitals in Anchorage and a new one in the Mat-Su Valley.  I suggest living in the Mat-Su (short for Matanuska-Susitna Valley).  It's an hour commute to Anchorage (and yes, the commute sucks), but housing is a heck of alot cheaper in the Valley than in Anchorage.  There are plenty of opportunities for mechanics and welders.  Check out the websites for Alyeska Pipeline, Veco, Connoco-Phillips, BP, Haliburton, etc for jobs on the north slope (usually two weeks on/two weeks off).  Your wife should have no problems finding a nursing job in the valley.  You can go to the websites for the cities of Palmer (where I live) and Wasilla that should have links for real estate and other jobs.  The fishing in the valley is much better than Anchorage.  There are a few major river drainages with plenty of creeks and the valley is dotted with many lakes.  There is quick access to hunting and fishing, snowmobiling, four wheeling, skiing, shopping, etc...

Icy Mike

Offline barley

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Nov 10, 2006, 07:44 PM »