Author Topic: putting a spring bobber on a pole  (Read 9644 times)

Offline Big Dawg

• Team IceShanty Regular
putting a spring bobber on a pole
« on: Feb 11, 2004, 07:30 PM »
how do you put them on? much thanks. goodluck the rest of the season
"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."

Offline Melbs7

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: putting a spring bobber on a pole
« Reply #1 on: Feb 12, 2004, 08:00 PM »
i like to use the clip on ones. there are some however that have a heat shrink tube that holds it onto your rod-tip. with these tho, i've had problems getting the heat shrink tubing over the tip guide. yet other people simply use electrical tape. and still other people use thread and rod cement or a similar type epoxy.

Melbs               :'(

Offline Big Dawg

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Feb 14, 2004, 06:45 AM »
do you put the line through the hole at the end too?(im new at this spring bobber stuff) 
thanks guys
Dave
"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."

Offline jigginstick

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Jig Jig Jig
« Reply #3 on: Feb 14, 2004, 07:14 AM »
 To get the most out of your spring bobber I like to have it extend out past the end of the pole. To do this I throw the plastic clip that comes with the spring steel type bobber away,I like my bobber on the top and my reel on the bottom it is more comfortable that way. Put the bobber on as close to the rod tip as you can, extending out past the tip,use a dab of hot glue to hold it where you want it then use some heavy sewing thread and wrap it tight to the pole, then coat the thread with 3 coats of clear fingernail polish. then run your line go through all the guides and then through the bobber eye. Now you have the most sensitive rod tip ever, perfect for jig drumming. Tight Lines to ya.

Offline Big Dawg

• Team IceShanty Regular