The ice fishing VT boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: killing northans  (Read 7538 times)

Offline bud-fish-er

• IceShanty Rookie
killing northans
« on: Feb 08, 2010, 05:25 PM »
i have been fishing northans for a couple of years now.  i have noticed a decline in amount and weight.  i am not the guy saying don't kill them but if we keep on killing them there will be no more to catch.  i asked a local, in northan Vermont where the northans were, and he said "you cant catch them after you have skinned them".  now once again i am not saying to stop feeding your family, but we all know that alot of the fish taken off the lake are just thrown out or get freezer burn.  lets all think ahead 10 years.  do you still want to have as much fun catching northans as we do today?  i hope this post does not piss anyone off by lets think of the future of northans

thanks
bud-fish-er

Offline razzledazzle

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Fish H8 me
Re: killing northans
« Reply #1 on: Feb 08, 2010, 05:28 PM »
I see pics all over the Internet of nice northerns taken from Champlain and other inland lakes.  I don't fish them... but don't see a crisis either.
Fish H8 me ™
www.fishH8me.com

Gerry

Offline freaknasty7

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Feb 08, 2010, 05:34 PM »
i would have to say im behind razzle on this one

Offline freaknasty7

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 08, 2010, 05:34 PM »
except i do fish for them

Offline nhpikeking

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #4 on: Feb 08, 2010, 05:37 PM »
i fish for them and consistently and catch them 35 inches + champlains pike are healthy just gotta work for the big ones

catch pike like its my job

Offline whitetail05401

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Feb 08, 2010, 05:51 PM »
I like to think i fish for them... I give it hell and sometime i get lucky. I do take most of what i do get but never let it go to waste. I like eating it and my daughter loves cleaning and helping me ea them.......jim s