The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Visting Maine  (Read 4085 times)

Offline butcher

• Team IceShanty Addict
Visting Maine
« on: Feb 01, 2018, 08:45 AM »
Good morning fellow ice fishermen!  I am making a 500+ mile trip from Bucks County, PA (near Trenton, NJ) the weekend of February 24th to do some ice fishing with my son who is attending the University of Maine (Orono).  I have a cabin rented for the weekend in Lincoln (near Enfield and Howland) on Upper Cold Stream Ponds - a mile or so northwest of Cold Stream Pond.  I have lots of experience ice fishing but I have never ice fished in Maine.  I really want to make this a great weekend for us so I was hoping to get some basic info on the rules as well as some tips for fishing in the area:

1.  Are treble hooks permitted on tip ups or is it single hooks only?
2.  Are quick strike rigs permitted for larger baits (a rig with two sets of treble hooks on a single bait)?
3.  Is there a bait shop near Lincoln?  If not, is there one somewhere between Orono and Lincoln where I can stop to get bait?
4.  I believe the lake(s) I will be fishing on Saturday have lake trout and landlocked salmon.  I have never caught or fished for these species.  Any tips for setups, locations, baits, rigs or techniques you can offer?
5.  I may try Pushaw lake on Sunday for pike.  Any tips for fishing that lake?
6.  Can I use dead baits for pike on Pushaw?  Any restrictions or special regs?
7.  Anything else I should know about ice fishing in Maine?

I apologize for all of the questions but I am really looking forward to this trip with my son and want to make sure we have fun and are following the rules.  I'm not necessarily looking for any secret spots or techniques, just some basic information to help me find some fish.  Of course, if you feel compelled to share some secrets, I certainly won't complain...   ;D

Thanks in advance!  If there is any way I can return the favor, please ask.