Author Topic: Strikemaster ice auger trouble starting  (Read 4453 times)

Offline Rially927

• IceShanty Rookie
Strikemaster ice auger trouble starting
« on: Dec 03, 2017, 10:04 AM »
I have an old strikemaster TC300 ice auger and have trouble starting it.  I took it to a small engine repair shop and got the carburetor cleaned a carburetor kit installed.  When it starts it runs awesome.  Trouble is I have a terrible time to get it started.  I will pull the rope 50 times and won't fire.  If I take a propane torch and heat the head a little it fires right off.  Any suggestions?

Offline tbern

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Strikemaster ice auger trouble starting
« Reply #1 on: Dec 03, 2017, 10:13 AM »
You probably checked the spark plug gap already, but if not could look at it or try a different plug.

Offline OldSailor

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Take a kid fishing! Pay it forward!!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 03, 2017, 10:15 AM »
Take back to the people who 'fixed' it!!! It's not fixed if you can't start it!!!!  >:(
My two favorite college football teams are Ohio State and whoever's playing Michigan!!!

Don't reel against the drag!!!

Ex Minnesnowta lad! You can take the lad out of Minnesnowta, but you can't take Minnesnowta out of the lad!!

Offline Rially927

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 03, 2017, 10:17 AM »
It had a new plug in it when I took it to shop and they put another new one in it.  Does anyone know what the gap should be?

Offline Fish Butcher

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #4 on: Dec 03, 2017, 10:17 AM »
Maybe a hairline crack in a plastic fuel line elbow.

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #5 on: Dec 03, 2017, 10:18 AM »