Author Topic: Hand Auger Question For U Guys- Saw A Guy Go Through 15" In Seconds!  (Read 2366 times)

Offline mono_mono

• Team IceShanty Addict
Last winter was brutal cold here in Upstate NY For months - The ice got over 20" before it warmed. One day while ice fishing, some guy walked out and cut through that 20" with what looked like a 6" (Or even 4" Maybe??) hand auger. It looked effortless and he was going through the ice much faster than I could with my older gasoline powered Strikemaster. I wanted to go talk to him and have a look at the auger but never did. Any idea what he was using? I have a manual Strikemaster Lazer that cuts nicely but NOTHING like what this guy had! Thanks in advance!
Go to Heaven for the climate, to hell for the company!

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
What color was his auger ? Probably a Nils ...did it have an off set handle ?
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

Offline mono_mono

• Team IceShanty Addict
Thanks neighbor! I am in Conklin

Offline mono_mono

• Team IceShanty Addict
I love this site! You guys gave me an answer in less than 10 minutes, great video! - Time to buy a Nils

Offline Coldfish98

• IceShanty Rookie
Just bought a Nils hand auger 6 inch. I've seen how fast they are first hand. Can't  test mine out yet but I can't wait to (as long as the weather cooperates).

Offline mono_mono

• Team IceShanty Addict
I just made an offer on one on Ebay - Brand new, (damaged carton) The auger is 100% undamaged. Looks like the guy sells a lot of them.100%feedback rating. Can't wait to try one

Offline Eaglecrg

• Team IceShanty Regular
I bought an 8" Nils last year and love it.  Drills 100% easier than other hand augers.  I think the difference is the offset handle.  Can't understand why other manufacturers are so slow to catch on.

Offline mmdrevo

• IceShanty Rookie