Author Topic: Preferred baits  (Read 1269 times)

Offline kenbo

• IceShanty Rookie
Preferred baits
« on: Feb 20, 2010, 09:29 PM »
As a total newbie, I'm just wondering what type of baits everone uses, what they are catching with those baits and if there are any baits or lures that they have found to be not so good.  I'm sure that this topic has been covered a million times before I ever got here, but it never hurts to compare ideas on tehcniques.
There is a fine line between a hobby and a mental illness.

Offline Border Jumper

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Must be here someplace??
Re: Preferred baits
« Reply #1 on: Feb 20, 2010, 09:34 PM »
Been having good luck with using spikes on Fiskas jigs.

Offline litho_hammer

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Feb 20, 2010, 09:50 PM »
It varies, but I myself like Diamond jigs and Frostee spoons. I also like to present minnows on a deadstick, something twisted about watching the rod tip quiver before the strike. For the most part if you can find them, the rest usually comes easy.

Offline trogdor

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Burninating
« Reply #3 on: Feb 20, 2010, 09:57 PM »
depends on the species.

For walleye, perch, and crappie I like a buckshot spoon tipped with a minnow. The minnow is hooked right through the head and the lower half pinched off.
Tu ne cede malis

Offline Lobes

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Just Fishin'
« Reply #4 on: Feb 20, 2010, 11:21 PM »
I am still targeting gills and crappie. Here in late February I've been doing a rapid rotation of wax worms, mousies, white spikes, and red spikes. You need to dig down deep in your bag of tricks right now but you can still bring in a lot of fish.

:tipup:
NBG

Mecosta County / Lakeview, Michigan

Offline baginwal

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Feb 20, 2010, 11:49 PM »
For Gills and Crappies: I like really small jigs tipped with spikes.
For Perch:  My go to lure is a small swedish pimple tipped with a minnow head or spikes.