Author Topic: Disposing of 1lb propane bottles  (Read 16138 times)

Offline Kevin23

• Team IceShantyholic
Disposing of 1lb propane bottles
« on: Jan 06, 2010, 07:58 PM »
Used the search in the top left and came up with nothing.

What do you guys do with your 1lbers when they are empty? Please don't say refill, I will never refill them no matter what anyone says.

Are they safe to throw in the trash?
EYECONICFISHING

Offline Oldbear

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Disposing of 1lb propane bottles
« Reply #1 on: Jan 06, 2010, 08:02 PM »
I save them then use them for target practice.  After that I put them in the trash can.  I also collect all the cans I find on the ice that some idiots leave out there.

Offline howesfc

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • "Eirinn go Brach"
« Reply #2 on: Jan 06, 2010, 08:12 PM »
I recycle them at our Town Transfer Station & Landfill.

I was a Soldier I am a Soldier I will always be a Soldier

Offline hammerhead

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 06, 2010, 08:12 PM »
Refill them. Not that hard and saves lots of $

Offline ice--cube

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 06, 2010, 08:15 PM »
Some of the new ones come with a relief cap that you can put on and it lets all the compressed air out and then you can safety throw them in the trash.

Offline letsgobowhunting

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Jan 06, 2010, 08:16 PM »

What do you guys do with your 1lbers when they are empty? Please don't say refill, I will never refill them no matter what anyone says.

What is your fear of refilling them? If it was unsafe they wouldn't sell the fittings to do so. I am planning to get a adapter to refill my coleman bottles. They fit my lantern base the best.
Ice fishing with my two boys reminds me of being a kid, when you got no place to go in the winter.... go play on the ice.

Offline IcePaul33

• IceShanty Rookie
  • As the sun rises.
« Reply #6 on: Jan 06, 2010, 08:20 PM »