Author Topic: best place to pike fish???  (Read 3223 times)

Offline Stave

• IceShanty Rookie
best place to pike fish???
« on: Feb 24, 2014, 07:37 PM »
hey guys im new to ice fishing and ive been on a mission to catch a nice pike. I fish alot in the windham area, i have been fishing alot at mansfeild hollow but i have no luck there and i heard its not the best place to fish pike. Any suggestions on areas for good pike fishing near Eastern CT? thanks for the help guys! :tipup: ;D

Offline Pike Guy Matt

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: best place to pike fish???
« Reply #1 on: Feb 24, 2014, 07:45 PM »
Fishing for pike is going to be slow no matter where you go, just keep spending time on the water. Mansfield Hollow has lots of pike and some real giants, but it is a tough place to fish. Your best bet for pike in Eastern CT is Pachaug or some of CT River coves.

Offline Stave

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Feb 24, 2014, 07:51 PM »
Thanks alot! do they usually hit better on jigs or live bait?

Offline NorthEastFisherman

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 24, 2014, 08:01 PM »
Thanks alot! do they usually hit better on jigs or live bait?
I'm not sure if you've seen the posts but some people spend ALOT of time out there, even with no flags. Some guy went 8 or more trips without a flag then got one. Not sure if there is a "best place" but if you're in a lake with pike best thing you can do is set out some live and dead big baits and pray a beast comes looking. My suggestion is to find a lake you'll do well jigging in, if you nonstop catch small perch or sunnies then that must mean there is a lot of food for the pike to eat. Set up near your jigging hotspot with the bait and wait. Its probably better to be catching little guys, that way the pike come in to see what's going on. Then they see a little sunny struggling because its on the end of your line. The pike thinks its injured, attacks, and you got a pike on. Or it'll see your baits before it gets there.