Author Topic: Location question  (Read 1368 times)

Offline water_walker

• IceShanty Rookie
Location question
« on: Jan 06, 2014, 08:19 PM »
Going to fish a lake with good walleye numbers. I have an idea of where I want to fish after reviewing a contour map of the lake. My questions are do I want to fish the the top or bottom of a drop off(steep drop from 15 FOW TO 35 FOW. Also there are a few 40-45' holes in 30 FOW. Would I be better off fishing inside the hole or closer to the edge. I know these May sound like dumb questions but I am new to walleye fishing and any help is appreciated.

Offline water_walker

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Location question
« Reply #1 on: Jan 06, 2014, 08:26 PM »
Here's a link to the lake map. I have access to the south half. Let me here what ya guys think!

http://www.in.gov/dnr/fishwild/files/fw-Lake_of_the_Woods_Bathymetry_Marshall_County_July_2009.pdf

Offline appleye

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 06, 2014, 08:44 PM »
I would start shallow and work deep. I don't like killing everything out of deep water. If you mark fish, fish. If nothing keep looking. Drop an aggressive presentation down the hole and see if anything shows up. Start seeing fish slow down.

Looking at the map the steep banks would be were I would look but if there some flat points close I would play there first. I don't see any obvious point on the map. What is the main forage? Assuming shad, the mouth of the bays may be good as well.
In the memory of "Team Lighting" Fish ON!
No one ever says,"Man that fish tastes small.
Thank you Lord for thinkin bout me. I'm alive and doin fine!!!!!!

Offline water_walker

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 06, 2014, 08:58 PM »
Soubds good thanks. Shad are the main forage as far as I know. One spot I was particularly interested in was on the bottom left/middle of the lake where the 15-20' area firms somewhat of a point then drops into deeper water.

Offline Walleye_Slayer

• IceShanty Rookie