Author Topic: Smoking!  (Read 5293 times)

Offline macchia182

• Team IceShanty Regular
Smoking!
« on: Feb 27, 2013, 10:34 AM »
Ok I'm new to the smoking world and just picked up a Masterbuilt Two Door Propane Smoker.  I have only smoked ribs in it once and they turned out fantastic.  Question is I have some Steelhead that I would like to smoke.  My smoker seems to run about 200 degrees on low temp.  How long do you think I should smoke the steelhead for?  My guess is 2-2.5 hours and that just guessing.  If anyone could give me any information on this I would greatly appreciate it.  Also if you have any of your favorite recipes that you would like to share the would be awesome.  Thanks and Tight Lines!!   ;D

Offline HIMO

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • GOATBOYS WISCONSIN CHAPTER 1st Wisconsin goat!!
Re: Smoking!
« Reply #1 on: Feb 27, 2013, 11:08 AM »
I have a masterbuilt smoker and it takes 2-2.5 hrs to smoke steelhead at a temp of 170-200 degrees.take your time and you will get the hang of it.

HIMO
                                                          Iceshanty & MFF Global Moderator
It's not how deep you fish, but how you wiggle your worm !!!

Offline FishtalesII

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Feb 27, 2013, 11:43 AM »
I have smoked hundreds of pounds of salmon & steelhead and here is a recipe that has always been great. You will get the hang of it the more you do it. Every smoker is different, I use a charcoal smoker so I have to keep a closer eye on it. Good luck, hope this helps

Brine For Fish

2QTS. WATER
1/2 CUP SALT
1/2 CUP BROWN SUGAR   
2 TBLS LEMON JUICE   
1/2 TBLS GARLIC POWDER
1/4 TBLS ONION SALT

DISOLVE ALL THE INGREDIENTS TOGETHER. COMPLETELY SUBMERGE FISH FILLETS FOR 24 TO 48 HOURS. PAT DRY AND PUT IN A SMOKER FOR A MINIMUM OF 2.5 HOURS. ADD THE REMAINING BRINE TO THE WATER PAN.