Author Topic: Ice fishing snowmobile suggestions newbie needs help  (Read 14347 times)

Offline jignpig

• IceShanty Rookie
Ice fishing snowmobile suggestions newbie needs help
« on: Nov 29, 2010, 09:13 PM »
Hey guys,

I am a newbie to snowmobiles and am looking for something to ice fish with.  I am not looking for a speed machine just something that will work for towing a sled loaded with my stuff.

We have many lakes that get a lot of wind and have bare ice, can you feasibly take a snowmobile out on such conditions?

What do you all recommend for mileage, brand, engine etc.  Anything you have is appreciated.  Trying to stay as inexpensive as possible, probably will take it out 4-5 times per year.

Thanks,

Todd

Offline CrappieGuy

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • 715-379-2376
Re: Ice fishing snowmobile suggestions newbie needs help
« Reply #1 on: Nov 29, 2010, 09:36 PM »
I would look for a vintage sled with boogie wheels in place of slides.  The slides need snow to keep them cool, plus the older sleds are much lighter and cheaper.  Also make sure the track is studded or you will want to stud it if on bare ice a lot.

Offline kasilofchrisn

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 29, 2010, 09:37 PM »
I would personally look for a utility type of sled or a touring sled.
An older Tundra II would be good or even a yamaha bravo if you are not too heavy.These would also be the cheapest.
As for bare ice You need to get some Ice scratchers. I hear good things about the Slidekicks brand as they are made so they don't get bent up when going in reverse if you forget to pick them up. They retail for about $60 for a set. I am considering these for my 2 sleds but usually don't have to worry about bare ice here in AK.
I am a Skidoo guy myself. Have a 99 tundra II that is pretty much retired but still runs good an 08 Tundra 550F and just bought a 2011 Expedition sport 600ACE.
I went with the newer sleds for comfort and suspension that the Tundra II is lacking.