Author Topic: spearing  (Read 9282 times)

Offline Yooper

• IceShanty Rookie
spearing
« on: Feb 10, 2004, 04:25 PM »
It's nice to find a forum with such great info.
Ive been fishing for pike on and off for the last 10 or so years, I am by no means an expert and continue to learn about fishing for pike everyday with the help of forums like this.

For the last 2 years I have been experimenting with the spearing of pike through the ice via a darkhouse. I was able to get my first pike this season and have seen numerous others. Now i'm not sure everbody feelings on spearing but for me it is similiar to bow hunting for deer. Iwas wondering if anyone else enjoys spearing? "Yooper"

fishmann

Re: spearing
« Reply #1 on: Feb 10, 2004, 06:21 PM »
First off, I want to preface my comments with the fact that I have nothing against people that spear pike. I used to do it years ago, 1975-80? with my grandfather, who though still with us, can no longer see well enough to get out, nor drive for that matter, but I do have some great memories of the time spent with him out in the darkhouse.