Author Topic: Snowdog Registration - Does it need to be?  (Read 3252 times)

Offline dubob

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Life is good!
Snowdog Registration - Does it need to be?
« on: Feb 19, 2022, 11:17 AM »
I am no lawyer, and I don't work for the Utah DMV - but I do know how to read.  And reading the Utah Code is an easy task even some of it is poorly written.  Utah Code Title 41 covers Motor Vehicles.  Within Title 41 is Chapter 22 which covers Off-Highway Vehicles (OHV).  Here is a quote from Code 41-22-2:
Quote from: Utah Code C41-22
41-22-2 Definitions. As used in this chapter: (22) "Snowmobile" means any motor vehicle designed for travel on snow or ice and steered and supported in whole or in part by skis, belts, cleats, runners, or low pressure tires.

Choice of words is important and the words chosen for this part of the code say "steered AND supported".  In other words, some THING most be used to both steer and support the OHV.  There are no skis or tires on a Snowdog.  There is a track that supports the Snowdog.  Can the track be considered a belt, cleats, or runners?  Don't know because those three terms are not defined in Code C41-22-2.  But, the steering of the Snowdog is accomplished by applying pressure (pushing) the handlebar to one side or the other and handlebars are not part of the definition in C41-22-2 (22).  So, it is my opinion that the Snowdog does not fit the definition of a snowmobile in the Code.

However, there are some other definitions in C41-22-2 that do suggest that a Snowdog should be registered as an "All-terrain type III vehicle".  The definition for an "All-terrain type III vehicle" is this:
41-22-2 Definitions. As used in this chapter: (4) (a) "All-terrain type III vehicle" means any other motor vehicle, not defined in Subsection (2), (3), (12), or (22), designed for or capable of travel over unimproved terrain.

Further, the definition of "motor vehicle" is stated thusly: