Author Topic: Collapsible Hard Side Shanty Design  (Read 13067 times)

Offline pvtschultz

• IceShanty Rookie
Collapsible Hard Side Shanty Design
« on: Nov 04, 2010, 01:22 PM »
Hello everyone.  This is my first post on this great site so I should introduce myself a bit.  I'm a 30 y/o mechanical engineer by training so I can't just buy something, I have to design and build it.  My wife thinks that it is a huge fault of mine, but I call it a "personality trait".  Plus, I'm cheap.  This past year my brother-in-law and I purchased a Polaris 6x6 so we finally have something to drag our gear out onto the ice with (other than our feet).  After looking through a bunch of pictures on here and searching the net, I came up with the design below.  The idea is for it to collapsible, not too heavy, but still fairly rugged and large enough for 2+ guys to fish quite comfortably.  I based the design loosely on the link below.  I'm going to add windows, fold-down tables, and etc later on, but this is a good start.  It is 6'2" floor to ceiling and about 6' long.  Solidworks says that it should weight about 250 lbs as is.  I'm going to make plans and will either sell them for a small fee or I'll just host them for public distribution depending on how well it turns out and works. 

http://www.niceshack.com/index.htm

Offline FishingNewEngland

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Fishing New England
Re: Collapsible Hard Side Shanty Design
« Reply #1 on: Nov 04, 2010, 01:30 PM »
Welcome to Ice Shanty!! That's quite a design, I like it!

Offline campfindit2

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Nov 04, 2010, 06:32 PM »
looks like you have solid works at home. I thought the nice shacks were a pretty nice design also. build it and let us know the final cost of materials.....please.

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Nov 04, 2010, 06:43 PM »