Author Topic: what is best way to freeze fish  (Read 11791 times)

Offline skowalski250

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Freezing your catch
« Reply #30 on: Jan 23, 2013, 10:04 AM »
The best way to freeze fish ive found is with the vacum sealer. Make sure the fish is DRY. Dry it in a couple of paper towels before you put it in the bag to seal. I have had fish over a year old and still good. They got lost in the freezer. A vacum sealer is a great investment for fishing and hunting etc.

Offline tonebea

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #31 on: Jan 23, 2013, 10:11 AM »
I've had a vacuum sealer for 5 years now. For hunting, fishing, veggies from the garden and buying in bulk, I won't go without one.

Offline IceSpudStud

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Hard Water is better than Hard Wood!!
« Reply #32 on: Jan 24, 2013, 06:33 AM »
Being a chef I deal with alot of IQF seafood and fish. i tried the freeze separately then bag fillets method last year and wound up disappointed by freezer burned fillets. :'( Definitely going back to freezing them in liquid. Water is good but milk is great. @) The fillets are sweet and tasty. Freeze in small portions and they wont take forever to thaw.

Offline perchtrapper

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #33 on: Jan 24, 2013, 09:38 AM »
I have froze in water since I remember had some go well over a year no loss. I take em out in the am and put them in a bowl of cold water to thaw, change the water a couple times ready to go by dinner.  I also stand them up on my freezer door when they start to tighten up.

Offline slab daddy 518

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #34 on: Jan 24, 2013, 09:41 AM »
i have to agree w everyone on freezing in water,then just run under warm water to thaw.

Offline MRLee315

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #35 on: Jan 24, 2013, 10:37 AM »
Most def freeze in water that's what i would be doing if i could only get out of work and go fishing.

Offline perchtrapper

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #36 on: Jan 25, 2013, 04:32 AM »