Author Topic: Needing advice  (Read 854 times)

Offline Preacherdan

• IceShanty Rookie
Needing advice
« on: Nov 17, 2013, 09:02 PM »
Hey yall im fairly new to ice fishing, i have only been at it the past 3 years, and well... Last year here in central il we didnt hardly get any ice to speak of. I have alot of beginner questions and i didnt see a beginner thread , so i figured i would post them in this one.  As far as my ogger it does me fine, my little $8 dollar plastic rod got old very quickly so i bought a small rod with a spinner reel on it.  Any other advice on a rod would be nice, and as far as bait, all i have used is a whole rainbow full of assorted jigs with wax worms, i catch loads and loads of gills, and some small bass, but i always see pics of guys pullin up big whoppers, what other kind of baits are there? And do you just jig them too? Most my fishing i have done during daylight but i had someone tell me that i could tie a glowstick on at night and have good luck? Any tips at all would help alot, like i said im pretty new at this and have only caught a mess of gills and some small bass, would like to get into this in a more serious manner if we get some ice down here

Offline cbwestwy

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Needing advice
« Reply #1 on: Nov 17, 2013, 09:15 PM »