Author Topic: Finish on Heritage Lakers  (Read 1532 times)

Offline flagup!

• Team IceShanty Regular
Finish on Heritage Lakers
« on: Feb 10, 2021, 07:00 AM »
So I have 6 Heritage Laker classic style.  I have 2 old 30+ yrs unfinished with aluminum spools(I got these used),  I bought the others new.  2 that are 10 years old unfinished with plastic spools and 2 black painted from the company that are the newest ones probably 6 years old.   The painted set is starting to chip but the wood underneath does not look like the same quality or even the same type of wood as the unfinished ones.  The aluminum set (oldest ones) almost look like they are maple or birch the grain is very fine. Does anyone know if they used other types of wood?.  The newer unfinished set is definitely Oak.  The painted ones are all grey and dried out where the paint chipped compared to the unfinished tip ups.  I am no wood expert so they could be oak, but I'm not sure.  Guess I'm asking, why the painted ones are in such terrible shape compared to the others and are they oak or not?  I sanded one of the painted ones and was going to paint it again then I decided to just throw some linseed oil on it.   I'll strip them down to bare wood after the season is over.     
The only time I learn something is when I'm not talking.

Offline dogfish

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Walk softly and carry a big gaff
Re: Finish on Heritage Lakers
« Reply #1 on: Feb 16, 2021, 08:33 AM »
I have a bunch of HL's that i picked up one or two here and there over a long period of time.
Some are hardwood like you said look to be maple or beech others are softwood pine or spruce.  I don't have any that look to be oak but who knows it appears that they used whatever they got a deal on?

All of mine I took the cross pieces off when i got them.  Mixed up a bunch of 2 part epoxy and gave all the wood pieces an epoxy finish.  It has held up great, tough as iron,
When the going gets weird the weird turn pro.

Offline adkRoy