Author Topic: Give me feed back on my sled build.  (Read 3604 times)

Offline thomasdgs

• IceShanty Rookie
Give me feed back on my sled build.
« on: Dec 20, 2015, 06:45 PM »
Hey All,

I am planning to build an ice sleigh to be pulled by hand until the ice it thick enough for my truck, or if the the snow gets too deep on the ice for my truck. I have mocked up my current design, and would like your feedback on it please.

The frame will be build of 2x3 lumber, with a deck of 3/8 plywood. I will be putting it on a set of downhill skis. I am restricted to 50" length, because I want it to fit in the box of my Ford Ranger with the tailgate closed.

Here are some pics of my layout. 2x3s will be cut down, just mocked up.

I am new to ice fishing this year, and pretty much a rookie when it comes to fishing in general. So you can expect a few "dumb" questions this winter.

Offline Chris338378

• Team IceShantyholic
Re: Give me feed back on my sled build.
« Reply #1 on: Dec 20, 2015, 06:47 PM »
Sounds good to me.  Ask anything you want, we were all new to ice fishing at one time.

Offline SLAYERFISH

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #2 on: Dec 20, 2015, 07:07 PM »
Way too heavy-
Love Me or Hate Me-
All Metal all the Time!

Offline thomasdgs

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 20, 2015, 07:30 PM »
Way too heavy-
Any suggestion of how I can make it lighter while still carrying all my stuff?
I am new to ice fishing this year, and pretty much a rookie when it comes to fishing in general. So you can expect a few "dumb" questions this winter.

Offline IM-POUNDING- R -U

• Team IceShanty Maniac
10% of the fisherman catch 90% of the fish .....im a 10% are you?

Offline WaterFox

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Dec 20, 2015, 07:48 PM »
Lose 2 egg crates, a tote, and a 20lb tank.  Maybe 1"x 2" for your framing.  4 small propane tanks have to weight less than that big one

Offline happyheber

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Tie on a Maniac the fish'll go crazy!!!