Author Topic: crappie fishing  (Read 3114 times)

Offline fishermanna82

• Team IceShanty Regular
crappie fishing
« on: Dec 14, 2010, 08:38 PM »
i fish a tourny in whitney point for crappie i have been doing the tourny for 3 years and have not caught any any suggestion on how to catch them.

Offline Soozookie

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Plastics!
Re: whitney point crappie fishing
« Reply #1 on: Dec 14, 2010, 11:09 PM »
In the Mouth ive heard ;D

Offline Yopy

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 19, 2010, 10:58 PM »
In the Mouth ive heard ;D

not much help there

Offline jjc155

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Dec 20, 2010, 06:35 PM »
not much help there

Fine, with a hook then..........

They tend to suspend so if you are not fishing with electronics you have to fish up off the bottom. What I whould do before I got a flasher would be to drop my jig all the way down to the bottom and start jigging and reeling every couple of minutes until I caught a fish. I would remember how may cranks on my reel till the fish was out of the hole (like my reels, tica cetus' are 20.5inchs per crank IIRC). then I could get back down quick.

I have also caught more crappie with smaller baits/jigs than with larger and do not use a bass fishing hook set, their nick name is not "papermouth" just for giggles.

J-

Offline schaffman

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: crappie fishing
« Reply #4 on: Dec 21, 2010, 09:03 AM »
I was looking at the map of that lake and there is a pretty big river channel that runs through it.   I would think you'd find them suspended in that channel.

Offline steveks

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Dec 21, 2010, 09:36 AM »