Poll

If you had the choice of either a snowmobile or ATV..what would it be

Snowmobile
ATV

Author Topic: Snowmobile or ATV...what would you rather?  (Read 5926 times)

Offline icejunky

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • TEAM ONTARIO
Snowmobile or ATV...what would you rather?
« on: Nov 29, 2009, 06:35 PM »
I have been banging around the idea for a few years now, and it is time to start looking at some on ice transportation..if you had the choice between an ATV or a Snowmobile what would you chose and why?

Ice fishing purposes only...that is all you can consider...what is the best of these two options in your opinion for ice fishing..

FISHFORPIKE

Re: Snowmobile or ATV...what would you rather?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 29, 2009, 06:57 PM »
ATV - It'll get you on, and around, the ice in more cases than a sled.  Sleds are nice, but wheelers are more versatile.  I've have both and the wheeler sees way more use on the ice for fishing.  It needs to be 4X4 and have chains all the way around.  Trim it up with a good windshield and heated grips too.  Does not not need to be the biggest, badest machine made, either;  A 350, 400 or 500 is more than very adequate.  I'm sure there are places around the ice-fishing community where the amount of snow would dictate a sled, but not in Northern, NY; and I believe you are close to me geographically and weather-wise.

Offline SkeeterJeff

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • SPUD, SPUD, SPUD!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: Nov 29, 2009, 07:06 PM »
ATV here also.  We don't get enough snow in the areas that I fish to justify a sled. 

-Jeff

Offline Double-L

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Nov 29, 2009, 07:13 PM »
I have been banging around the idea for a few years now, and it is time to start looking at some on ice transportation..if you had the choice between an ATV or a Snowmobile what would you chose and why?