Author Topic: malin boa no kink  (Read 1562 times)

Offline legerski82

• Team IceShanty Regular
malin boa no kink
« on: Jan 11, 2009, 08:55 PM »
  Buddy and I tied up some leaders with the 31 lb malin no kink and some  of the 40lb malin stainless today.  We crimped the stainless and tied the no kink.  The no kink seems like it will be great far superior to the standard stainless.   Hope we have lots of pics from fort peck to prove it was worth the cash.

Offline IceTroll

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: malin boa no kink
« Reply #1 on: Jan 12, 2009, 11:44 AM »
I seriously doubt you will be disappointed. I have been using the Malin for about 10 years now up at Ft. Peck. If its tied right its darn near bullet proof. I have heard people complain about breaks but 99% of the time its because they tied it wrong or trimmed the tag end too short. I have landed some Monster Northern and Walleye with the Malin wire and I wont use anything else. This year I am going to take the plunge and try Circle Hooks in conjunction with the Malin and see how they perform.
Being in the great outdoors is not a matter of life or death. Its far more important than that!

Offline legerski82

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 12, 2009, 09:46 PM »
  It was your posts that helped me too decide to try it out.   Which pound test do you like using?    We made some with beads and spinner blades and some with just plain red treble hooks.  Do you use beads or blades?

Offline IceTroll

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 12, 2009, 11:08 PM »