Author Topic: April Ice?  (Read 6274 times)

Offline WMUAngler

• IceShanty Rookie
April Ice?
« on: Feb 26, 2008, 12:08 PM »
I wanted to head up to the UP for a 4 day weekend (April 4th through the 7th).  Am I dreaming thinking that I can ice fish, or does the UP usually hold ice that long.  I'm looking specifically for Caribou Lake, but any information would be great. I'm a born Yooper, but haven't lived up there since I was about 5 years old.  Thanks for the info!

Offline browning13

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Can't get enough of the hardwater
Re: April Ice?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 26, 2008, 12:23 PM »
I was out sunday on 30" of ice and a buddy of mine fished another lake with about 40". If these cold temperatures keep up like they have been I expect to be fishing through March and maybe into April if we're lucky enough. This is my first year up here so I don't know what the spring weather is usually like, we never got ice like this downstate.

Offline WMUAngler

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Feb 26, 2008, 12:30 PM »
I hope it makes it until April.  How do you like Marquette? I live in the Grand Rapids area now but I was born in Marquette.  I wish we got ice like that down here.

Offline srobocop

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 26, 2008, 12:32 PM »
as far as i can remember early april is really pushing it. it'll depend on the weather but for the most part i wouldn't count on it.
-Sro
"I ain't from Michigan, I'm from the U.P."

Offline Handlining Rules

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Feb 26, 2008, 04:33 PM »
Usually the small lakes are good through early April...but who wants to do that when you can kill the coho out on the bubblers  ;)

Offline browning13

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #5 on: Feb 26, 2008, 04:59 PM »
Usually the small lakes are good through early April...but who wants to do that when you can kill the coho out on the bubblers  ;)